17 Join NHS

17 Join NHS

Seventeen top juniors and seniors at Silver Creek High School were inducted into the district’s National Honor Society chapter during an evening ceremony held Nov. 29, 2018 in the auditorium.* 

These outstanding Black Knights have not only high grade point averages, but also demonstrate an admirable commitment to scholarship, service, leadership and character. 

Following a welcome and introductions by High School Principal Thomas Buczkowski, the National Anthem was played on trumpet by Andrea Olsen. NHS President Emma Rice then addressed the audience before a presentation of the four components by current NHS  members Kristen Wielgasz (scholarship), Madison Mott (service), Makenzie Pagano (leadership) and Savannah Seeley (character). 

“Being in this prestigious group doesn’t mean you’re just in a Silver Creek club,” said NHS President Emma Rice. “You join thousands of other NHS student leaders across the country. You should be proud of your academic accomplishments and don’t regret the sacrifices you’ve made to achieve this.” 

The inductees are actively involved in their school community and participate in activities such as volunteering, random acts of kindness, book clubs, tutoring, and in general are compassionate people who think about how they can best serve society. 

“Everything you do has the potential to make an impact,” said NHS Treasurer Madison Mott, in discussing the importance of community service.

After the candlelight ceremony, the inductees were introduced one by one along with their Silver Creek staff sponsors, who detailed each student’s accomplishments and gave an overview of their character. 

The 2018 inductees (with their sponsors in parentheses) are: Olivia Boothe (Mr. Palcic), Sarah Boothe (Mrs. Seiders), Kiera Brennan (Mr. Greg Brennan), Gabrielle Clark (Mr. Skalski), Jaylah Cossin (Mrs. Seiders), Nik Dawley (Mr. Bratcher), Bridgette Ewing (Mrs.Kardashian), Morningstar Halftown (Mr. Abate), Dakotah Kaiser (Miss Laurenzi), Liberty Lawton (Mr. Rice), Lily League (Mrs. Swensen), Taylor Nehrbass (Miss Laurenzi), Nia Nephew (Miss Tahamont), Daniel Paterson (Mr. Sadler), Christopher VanCheri (Mr. Helmer), Chloe Vecchio (Miss Quant), Luke Zbytek (Miss Laurenzi).   

Current NHS members are: President Emma Rice, Vice President Olivia Watroba, Treasurer Madison Mott, Secretary Jenna Miller and members Garrett Castle, Andrea Olsen, Savanna Dawley, Makenzie Pagano, Jenna Gabel, Savannah Seeley, Julia Hill, Kristen Wielgasz and Chloe Morton. 

At the close of the ceremony, the NHS thanked Superintendent Todd Crandall, Principal Buczkowski, NHS advisor Jaime Karnes, the NHS Faculty Council, district staff and the parents and families of the SCCS community for their support. 

*The Nov. 29 evening ceremony for families and loved ones was followed by a morning ceremony held Friday, Dec. 7, 2018, with the entire high school student body in attendance.